• Apply Early! PTCAS processing may take up to 4 to 5 weeks, once all required materials are received. Submit your PTCAS application and arrange for materials to arrive at PTCAS by the program's deadline. The deadline indicates when materials must arrive at PTCAS (and not the program). Programs may have multiple deadline dates or operate on a rolling admissions basis. Visit the PTCAS Directory for details.

    Submit your PTCAS application and arrange for materials to arrive at PTCAS by the program's deadline. The deadline indicates when materials must arrive at PTCAS (and NOT the program).

    Early Decision

    ANNOUNCEMENT REGARDING PTCAS EARLY DECISION: For the upcoming 2020-21 application cycle, the decision has been made to eliminate the early decision process for applicants and participating DPT education programs in PTCAS. Several factors were considered in making this decision, including ongoing U.S. Department of Justice investigations into admissions practices and commonality of similar programs in comparable health professions application services, among others. To help address this change, PTCAS has added earlier deadline dates for the 2020-21 application cycle, beginning August 17. With this policy change, applicants will be able to complete and submit an application as early as July 1 for as many PTCAS programs as they would like – PTCAS will no longer require that applicants wait for an acceptance decision from their top-choice program to apply to additional programs. Questions regarding the elimination of the PTCAS Early Decision process should be sent to CAS@apta.org. 

    Firm and Soft Deadlines

    Each PTCAS program has selected a firm or soft deadline. Programs may move from a soft to a firm deadline at any point during the cycle.

    • Firm Deadline - You cannot apply to the program after the deadline has passed.
    • Soft Deadline - You can still apply to the program after the deadline has passed, but the program may give less or no consideration to your file if you apply after the deadline.

    Application Close Time

    All PTCAS deadlines expire at 11:59 pm ET.  Review the time zones to determine when the application will close in your area:

    • 11:59 PM (ET)
    • 10:59 PM (CT)
    • 9:59 PM (MT)
    • 8:59 PM (PT)
    • 7:59 PM (AKT)
    • 6:59 PM (HT)

    Late Materials and Missed Deadlines

    A program may deny your application if your transcripts or other materials arrive late. If you submit your application by the program's deadline, PTCAS will release your application to your selected programs, even if your materials arrive after the deadline. PTCAS is not responsible for any materials lost in the mail or for delays caused by the registrar's office. Express or certified mail does not guarantee expedient processing, nor does sending transcripts express or certified mail guarantee receipt by PTCAS. 

    Deadline Extensions

    Contact the program directly to request a deadline extension. Programs are not obligated to grant deadline extensions or give consideration to applicants who submit late application materials.

  • Last Updated: 5/8/2020
    Contact: ptcasinfo@ptcas.org